The Center for the Tebtunis Papyri

Search Database


The Collection

What's New

Lecture Series

On-line Exhibits


Todd Hickey, Papyrologist
& Curator

Support the CTP

About this Site


Regional Partners

ASP Summer
Seminar in

Donate online to CTP
The Center for the Tebtunis Papyri

The Center for the Tebtunis Papyri (CTP) aims to support and promote new research, graduate student training and international collaboration in the decipherment of the largely unstudied Tebtunis Papyri. Excavated at the turn of the last century at the Greco-Roman site of Tebtunis, the papyri are held by The Bancroft Library at the University of California, Berkeley.

CTP was created in 2000 as an Organized Research Project (ORP) supported by the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research. Additional support is provided by The Bancroft Library, the Department of Classics, and donors. The CTP is guided by an Advisory Committee representing the Departments of Classics, Near Eastern Studies and History, the Graduate Program in Ancient History and Mediterranean Archaeology, and The Bancroft Library.

CTP operations commenced in 2001 with the arrival of Dr. Todd Hickey as papyrologist and curator in The Bancroft Library and as Lecturer in Classics. Subsequently he became Assistant Professor of Classics, and in 2011 he assumed the title of Director of CTP upon being promoted to Associate Professor of Classics . Since his arrival in 2001, steady progress has been made in the conservation, digitization, decipherment and publication of the Tebtunis papyri. By training students, CTP has added papyrology to the strengths of the already world-class Classics and Ancient History and Mediterranean Archaeology programs at Berkeley.

Director Todd Hickey

Center for the Tebtunis Papyri
University of California
Bancroft Library
Berkeley, CA 94720-6000

phone: 510-664-4245 (general inquiries)
phone: 510-642-4556 (Director)
fax: 510-643-4313
Director's e-mail:

Advisory Committee

  • Professor S. Elm, History and AHMA
  • Professor M. Griffith, Classics
  • Professor E. S. Gruen, History, Classics, and AHMA
  • Professor C. Hallett, Art History, Classics, and AHMA
  • Professor A. A. Long, Classics
  • Professor D. J. Mastronarde, Classics, Committee Chair (CTP Director 2001-2011)
  • Associate Professor Nikolaos Papazarkadas, Classics and AHMA
  • Associate Professor C. A. Redmount, Near Eastern Studies and AHMA
  • Professor Elaine Tennant, Director of The Bancroft Library